Conversations about Race at Lipscomb University’s Summer Celebration

PSX_20150702_113200Ferguson, Baltimore and now Charleston – tangible and tragic moments in a much larger national dynamic that involves an increasingly diverse nation trying to understand and practice racial harmony.

This morning, I had the chance to talk issues of race and injustice around these events and the media coverage surrounding them in a class led by President Randy Lowry at Lipscomb University’s annual Summer Celebration. I was certainly happy to do it (see my photo? 🙂

One of my fellow faculty members asked me at the end of the discussion in reference to my comments, “how do you talk to your students about race as a black woman in a majority white environment like Lipscomb?” and we had good dialogue around my answer.

I am always amazed when a community of faith comes together to talk about such a difficult topic as race in a spiritual context and encouraged by the honesty of those who admit their shortcomings when dealing with issues of race.

I have much more to say about these topics as we dwell deeper and deeper into an era of racial understanding so I plan to write a few pieces around the subject in the coming months.

Thankful to President Lowry for inviting me to be a part of the discussion today! ‪

2 thoughts on “Conversations about Race at Lipscomb University’s Summer Celebration

  1. jwhuckfeldt says:

    Aeriel, like Sheila M. Tartaglia, MA, I really enjoyed your article. I have differing perspectives, quite frankly, are unpopular with a lot of people. It’s no secret that I served nine years, that I love my country and all my brothers and sisters I served with for close to a decade. I’ve never seen racism while in the infantry because the only colors that mattered was the uniform you wore and the blood circulating in your body. It saddens me to the core to see Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson use racial division for profit. I’m disappointed that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s and Malcolm X’s family haven’t been as active in the controversies over the years. There’s my preamble. If you’s like to know more, I’d love to share my thoughts with you.

Leave a Reply

